Healing?

I read a blog posted by the Ministry Centre last week (http://natepyle.com/confronting-the-lie-god-wont-give-you-more-than-you-can-handle/). The phrase “God never gives you more than you can handle” is a phrase that I have heard all too often during my life. I may be pointing out the obvious but it is not helpful; neither are the phrases: “this will make you a better/stronger/more caring etc. person”,”It’s all part of God’s plan”, and “Others have it worse than you”. I know that these words are not said be mean, but they hurt.

Two weeks a wonderful person I know passed away after a very short illness. I would rather someone not suffer, but it makes it a lot harder for everyone who cares about this person. Before I had my illness I would use similar words to the ones above, but now I know just how unhelpful they are.

Many denominations teach that God will heal you. I struggle anytime that the word heal was used – in any context.  I am a music person and hymns were especially difficult for me.  A few weeks ago we talked about We Cannot Measure How You Heal by the Iona Community.  This is one song about healing that makes sense to me:

We cannot measure how you heal or answer every sufferer’s prayer,
yet we believe your grace responds where faith and doubt unite to care.
Your hands, though bloodied on the cross survive to hold and heal and warn,
to carry all through death to life and cradle children yet unborn.

The pain that will not go away, the guilt that clings from things long past,
the fear of what the future holds are present as if meant to last.
But present too is love which tends the hurt we never hoped to find,
the private agonies inside the memories that haunt the mind.

So some have come who need your help, and some have come to make amends,
as hands which shaped and saved the world are present in the touch of friends.
Lord, let your Spirit meet us here to mend the body, mind and soul,
to disentangle peace from pain and make your broken people whole

We are coming into Holy Week; the week that starts out with celebrations and parades and ends with Jesus` death and the Resurrection. The emotions that we see Jesus and his friends and family go through resemble the emotions that we experience when faced during a difficult time. Things are going well; then we see the denial, the betrayal, the tears, the anger and finally the relief and happiness when Jesus is resurrected.

The song above brings me a great deal of comfort when I am struggling and I think it might have brought comfort to Jesus and to others who feel that God has abandoned them.

This week we will go through the emotions, but for today, let`s celebrate. Hosanna in the Highest!!

Laurie

4 comments on “Healing?

  1. I’m not sure why but this blog is loading very slow for me. Is anyone else having this issue or is it a problem on my end? I’ll check back
    later and see if the problem still exists.

  2. dark spots says:

    Please let me know if you’re looking for a article author for your weblog. You have some really good posts and I think I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d really like to write some material for
    your blog in exchange for a link back to mine. Please blast me an email if
    interested. Thank you!

    • Thanks for the offer – we don’t tend to be short on authors, cos we draw from both past and present members of our worshiping community – but we’ll keep it in mind. Blessings!

  3. This excellent website certainly has all the info I needed concerning this subject and
    didn’t know who to ask.

Leave a Reply

