This term has gone by so quickly for me. I’m not sure if it has to do with being in my last year of university or there was just so much going on in life, but I feel like life is finally slowing down a bit as we enter into April. This time of year has meant solace for students as we no longer attend classes and prepare for exams.
In the last few weeks of school, I get overwhelmed with everything that needs finishing before April. It’s only recently that I have discovered choral music to be such a powerful tool in grounding my runaway thoughts and quick-running thoughts. People have been singing these songs in lofty cathedrals for a thousand years at least, joined by candlelight in the face of a dark world. There’s something so affirming in quiet song brought to life by a group of human voices that calms me, fills me with awe and reminds me that the light always returns.

Ainsley

Leave a Reply

