Eternal Life

Believe it or not, this is the biggest problem I’ve had with Christianity. Though I know the topic of eternal life is complex, I will try to write down my issues and thoughts about down here.

I think my problem with this concept comes from the fact that it has taken a connotation of waiting for the afterlife in many of the louder circles of Christianity. These are the groups where it feels like death is ignored and they talk about how the deceased will be dancing with the angles instead of talking about how death is hard. I think that focusing on the afterlife is not helpful. More than that, I actually don’t care if there is an afterlife and I do not like the fact that many Christians put way too much emphasis on it.

John 17:3 And eternal life is this: to know you, the only true God, and Jesus Christ whom you have sent.

I never thought I would quote a bible verse in this blog, but this is a concept of eternal life that I think we should be emphasising. Instead of life after death, we should be focusing on life with God; since God is eternal, life with God must also be eternal.

As we approach Easter, I have been noticing the language of eternal life being used often, and I fear that the part of eternal life many hang their hat on is the afterlife part. If we put the emphasis on the afterlife, why then is Christianity more compelling then any of the other myths that dream about what the afterlife will be like and tell their followers how to get there?

Pamela

Leave a Reply

