BFFLs

This is probably the hardest post I’ve had to write, because I have so much on my mind I don’t know what I want to say! Between packing, studying, getting affairs in order, making plans, talking on the phone with friends for two hours … oh hey, friends, that could be a topic!

Today is my friend-iversary! My friend Jennie and I met exactly eleven years ago today in the third grade. I was a new student a couple months before she arrived, so I had the opportunity to show her around when she moved to my new school. We’ve had ups and downs, we’ve done a lot of growing up over the years, and despite physically growing apart (me moving to Ontario, her staying in British Columbia), we’re still as goofy and comfortable with each other as ever. I think one of the most touching things she’s said to me over the years was actually from the conversation we had last night:

As we were making plans for Easter weekend, she said “Oh yes, on Monday we have to stop in at Ardène!” … I know she’s been working there for awhile now, it wasn’t a complete surprise, I thought she’d want me to meet her co-workers. Still, I asked her why, and she replied “The girls are really excited to meet you!” What? “Every time I go in to work I say ‘My friend’s coming soon, my friend’s coming soon!’ And they say ‘You have to bring her in!’ So we can go on the Monday and do that.” I knew Jennie was excited I was coming home, but I never imagined she would be shouting it from the rooftops (in a manner of speaking)! Sometimes I forget people can love me as much as I love them.

So today (well, all days really), I encourage you all to tell your best friend(s) at least one thing you like about them. Tell them why you cherish your friendship. ❤

Kaitlyn

Leave a Reply

